She left her pink hat on the couch.

This morning at around 8 am (ew), one of our guests started knocking on our door and yelling, “IS ANYBODY AWAKE? ARE YOU GUYS STILL SLEEPING? IS ANYBODY HOME?” and she kept yelling that on and off for a few minutes. I prayed fervently that she would get the hint that we were all sleeping and go away, but no such luck. Lord in your mercy, hear our prayer. A couple minutes later she walked in the house, all the while asking if we were still sleeping and where is everybody. “Dammit,” I thought, “Now I have to actually haul my fat ass out of bed and deal with this.” So I rolled out of bed, rubbing my eyes, and saw a purpose-driven Mike striding towards her. He had his grim face on, and I’m here to tell you that that face is not your friend. Yikes. I retreated back to my room, because I’m a coward and because it was 8 am and my brain was not equipped to deal with anything other than urinating. I heard her start to cry and wail, crying about how she just loves us and her parents are dead and etc etc. Then she left. Without her pink hat. Which is still on the couch.

What do I think? I don’t know. I think that this particular guest is very sensitive but that she will use tears to her advantage, to get people to feel sorry for her. I think that she’s not very aware of boundaries. I think that Mike did the right thing, but he was agitated. I should have dealt with it, because I could have been less agitated, but I just kept hoping that she would get the idea that we were all sleeping and leave us alone. When I told Steph, she kept saying, “Aww, poor ____!” Hmmmm. I didn’t feel like that was the important part of the story. I think she knows that sometimes we’re not home and sometimes isn’t a good time to come over. It’s not always a good time. I don’t think she doesn’t know that. I also think she was blitzed out of her mind and that’s why she walked in without thinking about it. Normally she just knocks for a long time and then leaves.

But then, Steph always feels bad about things that I do not feel bad about. For example, today she kept saying how she wasn’t going to go outside because she felt bad every time she went outside because she wasn’t helping around the neighborhood with the flood clean-up. I haven’t helped at all with the flood clean-up and I don’t feel the least bit bad about it. I probably will help before the time is out, but I don’t feel bad that I’m sitting in my living room right now, thinking about taking a shower and cleaning the living room. I just don’t. I think I don’t because there’s so many people out here that want to help and are helping, and because I think that if I want to help then I will. If I don’t feel like it, then I don’t feel like it. So I don’t really understand why she feels bad. Or maybe I’m just completely self-involved and selfish. That’s a very real possibility.

I’m scared to shower though because it’s not conserving water. I’m also scared to do my laundry but in all honesty I think a scarier thing might be not doing my laundry. I need to do the dishes but I don’t want to put a strain on the water system. Conserving water is a pain. I feel you, Africa! No, I don’t. I feel you for maybe a week and then I’ll go back to my western ways without thinking about it. This isn’t every day for the rest of our lives, but it is for some people’s lives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

