the type of person that I want to meet

I was just sifting through tumblr and I saw a quote that said “Be the type of person that you want to meet.”

Hmmm. The type of person that I want to meet.

This is just another example of the type of cheesy sayings that are complete bullshit.

Here is a list of people that I want to meet :

-Adolf Hitler
-a serial killer
-Chuck Klosterman
-Tim Curry in character as Dr. Frank Furter (so, essentially, a transvestite from Transylvania)
-an extraterrestrial being
-a Unicorn
-Klaus the Vampire
-Eric the Vampire
-someone who’s about to commit suicide, so I can convince them not to
-Someone who’s been aborted – like I would somehow be able to communicate with them from the other side
-Fiona Apple
-me, when I’m 80
-my mom, when she’s 16
-the person that invented the doughnut
-Anne of Green Gables
-Zach Woodlee
-Bill Murray
-anyone from Harry Potter

Trying to be more like people I want to meet is a terrible idea. Most of these people are fictional, male, dangerous, grade-A douchebags, or simply non-existent. There’s not even a unifying characteristic they share. That would make more sense. Like, for example, if they were all idealistic, or if they were all generous, or if they were all leaders, or if they were all loyal. But none of those things are true of all of the people that I want to meet. Most of them I want to meet for sheer morbid curiosity, not because they’re a cool guy. Adolf Hitler is not a cool guy. I still want to meet him, though.

I don’t want to be inspired. I don’t want to have some sort of transcendent moment. I don’t want them to impart some earth-shattering wisdom. All I really want is not to be bored.

“For some reason,
I really want to love this person.”

Chuck Klosterman [in regards to Britney Spears]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

